Eye Of Horus | Cruelty Free Cosmetics Review

Eye of Horus is a cruelty-free makeup brand locally made in Byron Bay. I was lucky enough to be sent a PR package from the beautiful goddesses to test the brand out and swap over some of my usual drugstore and high-end make-up products to these natural alternatives. I was gifted a brow pencil, mascara, two metallic liquid eyeliners and a mascara. Though these items were sent to me all opinions are my own.

 

Eye of Horus Brow Define Pencil in Husk:

IMG_0104IMG_0109

I’ve been filling in my eyebrows with a powder/gel duo and an angled brush forever. So I was slightly skeptical about using a pencil. Once I did though, and found that I could get a straighter arch and more natural looking strokes while building a heavier, thicker brow on top I became a convert. The pencil comes in a twist-up mechanism and has a coconut and candellila wax base, meaning the product doesn’t ‘pull’ when applied and glides on while retaining enough toughness to create even strokes with a high-end finish.

BROW PENCIL INGREDIENTS: Hydrogenated Soybean Oil Hydrogenated Coco-Glycerides Polyethylene Hydrogenated Vegetable Oil Zinc Stearate Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax Mica Polyglyceryl-2 Triisostearate Methicone Ricinus Communis ( Castor ) Seed Oil MAY CONTAIN: C1 77891, C1 77499, C1 77492, C1 77491

link to buy

 

Eye of  Horus Bio Mascara in Black:

Next up, I tried out the bio mascara and was again extremely impressed. I had previously been using a Rimmel London mascara which I liked, but found to be a little clumpy after time, and the brush was too big for me to fully define my lashes. The bio mascara wand is a lot slimmer with a rounded end that I can move to meet every lash. The formula itself is much nicer in comparison to what I was using. I felt this product achieved a more natural look, coating each lash without creating clumps and extending the lashes to taper and fan out, almost achieving a natural ‘false lash’ look. The photography above depicts the mascara without false lashes or curling. I do find that I experience some fall out from this mascara, without rubbing my eyes. It tends to flake, this isn’t something I have found in other mascaras but has happened often enough with this particular product to be worthy of mentioning.

BIO MASCARA INGREDIENTS: Aqua, Copernicia Cerifera Cera  , Stearic Acid, Ricinus Communis Seed Oil , Palmitic Acid  , Propanediol, Glyceryl Stearate SE, Palmitic / Stearic Triglyceride , Benzyl Alcohol, Xanthan Gum , Kaolin  , Sodium Hydroxide , Potassium Sorbate, Galactoarabinan , Butylene Glycol , Laminaria Digitata Extract, Tocopherol , Myristic Acid, Dehydroacetic Acid  , Lauric Acid, Oleic Acid , Helianthus Annuus Seed Oil. May Contain + /-  C177499 Iron Oxides

Leave a Reply

